The road to massage therapy licensure is rewarding, enlightening, and challenging. But for any Oregonian who wants to practice massage, Portland to John Day, the end goal is the same: successfully adding the letters “LMT” (Licensed Massage Therapist) to one’s name. If you’re researching massage therapy training in Oregon, it’s key to select programs that will empower you to gain licensure.
To do that, you must understand what the state requires to become an LMT. It’s helpful to work backward from that audacious goal, so that every step you take in the journey leads in the direction of your final destination, with minimal detours. To that end, we’re presenting how to become an LMT in the state of Oregon. The last time we wrote on Oregon massage therapy licensure was in 2014, and requirements have certainly changed since then.
How to Become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Oregon
As determined by the Oregon State Board of Massage, licensure qualification to practice massage therapy in Oregon mandates the following:
- Educational Requirements
The Board prescribes a minimum of 625 hours of massage education from a school that has been licensed by the state, approved by the state, or accredited by a US Department of Education recognized accrediting agency. Those hours must be gained in certain subjects, as follows.
- At least 200 hours of courses in the health sciences, specifically Anatomy and Physiology, Pathology, and Kinesiology.
- At least 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Sanitation, Communication, and Ethics.
- The remaining 125 hours may be in any of the areas listed above.
- Jurisprudence (Law) Exam Requirement
In addition to the educational requirements, Oregon also requires LMT applicants to pass the Oregon Jurisprudence exam, which is a test covering the Oregon massage law. That test requires a score of 80% to pass, but there is no limit to the number of times an applicant may take the test.
- National Massage Examination Requirement
Finally, candidates must take and pass a national written massage examination that has been approved by the Board. The approved tests include the MBLEX, the NCBTMB, and the CESI. The exam results must come directly from the exam provider.
These are the requirements for eligibility for massage license application. In a future post, we will outline the actual application process for those who have completed all of the requirements listed above.
If you’re a massage therapy student or massage school applicant, or you’re just curious about pursuing your dream of becoming a massage therapist, we encourage you to bookmark this page as a handy reference. And if you’re ready to apply to East West College, we encourage you to get in touch with our admissions team. The East West College massage training program includes all the components required to successfully become an LMT in Oregon.